How Old Do You Have to Be to Smoke Weed in New Jersey?
As cannabis laws change in different states across America each year, you may be wondering how old you have to be to smoke weed in New Jersey. At the time of this writing, only medical marijuana (MM) is legal in New Jersey, so 18-year-old residents with a valid MM card can smoke weed without worry.
Using Medical Marijuana in NJ
Residents of New Jersey voted to pass the Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA), so since 2010, residents at least 18 years of age with a state-issued MM card from have been able to smoke weed and consume other medicinal cannabis products within the borders of the Garden State.
New Jersey residents under the age of 18 that have a qualifying MM condition and want to use medicinal cannabis must have recommendations from both a psychiatrist and a pediatrician. They must also have an appointed caregiver, a legal guardian who resides in the state, has no felony convictions, and is at least 18 years old, to administer their medicine. MM patients that are minors can only use edible forms of cannabis products, as the state does not permit them to smoke weed.
Changes to Laws Regarding Smoking Weed in New Jersey
The Garden State currently boasts some of the most restrictive eligibility requirements in America and highest prices for medical cannabis products, but governor-elect Phil Murphy campaigned on the promise to sign legislation for recreational cannabis into law during his first 100 days in office, so the Switzerland of America may see some big changes regarding who the state says can legally smoke weed in 2018.
However, this doesn’t mean it’s legal for 18-year-olds with an MM card to smoke weed anywhere they like; they must limit their use to private residences. MM patients at least 18 years of age can buy two ounces of cannabis per month, but they can not
To end, remember that it’s illegal to smoke weed, consume marijuana, or be under the influence of cannabis in if you’re operating a motorized vehicle or machine. You also can’t transport your medical cannabis products across state lines, as that still violates federal law. You can learn more about the Garden State’s Medical Marijuana Program by contacting the State of New Jersey’s Department of Health.