How Old Do You Have to Be to Smoke Weed in Arizona?
If you’re an Arizona resident or you’re visiting the Grand Canyon State to see the sights, you may be wondering how old you have to be to smoke weed. As of this writing, only medical marijuana (MM) is legal in Arizona, as the state’s residents did not vote in favor of Proposition 205 in November 2016, which would have made the recreational use of cannabis legal for 21-year-old adults. This means that only those with a state-issued MM card can smoke weed in the Copper State.
Laws to Know if You Smoke Weed in Arizona
Arizona residents who are at least 18 years old and have a qualifying medical condition can get a MM card, which gives them the ability to purchase cannabis from a state-licensed dispensary and smoke weed legally. Minors under 18 years of age, meanwhile, have to have a custodial parent or legal guardian as their state-recognized caregiver (who must be at least 21 years old) who will take part in the application process for their MM card and be the one to purchase and administer the cannabis.
MM Card in Arizona
Also, just because you’re an 18-year-old MM patient doesn’t mean you can smoke weed anywhere you want in Arizona — the state limits the smoking of cannabis to the privacy of one’s residence and prohibits the smoking of weed in public. You can, however, eat cannabis out in public, so long as you aren’t noticeably intoxicated or about to operate a motorized vehicle. Remember, it’s still illegal to smoke weed or be under the herb’s influence while driving a car.
Can I Grow Weed in Arizona?
To end, you should know that Arizona has some of the strictest cannabis laws in the United States, so if you’re 18 and intend to smoke weed, make sure you’re in line with the state’s rules, or you risk some hefty fines and possibly jail time. If you’re an 18-year-old MM patient or a 21-year-old caregiver, you can buy up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis from state-run dispensaries in a two-week period and grow up to 12 cannabis plants yourself. You can learn more about the regulations regarding MM consumption in the Sunset State by checking with the Arizona Department of Health Services or your local dispensary.